Long Division 2013-8th June

 

Wakefield’s inner city, multi venue festival, Long Division returned for a third year and was as highly enjoyable as previous years.  I arrived in town to some glorious sunshine and looking forward to what promised to be a spectacular day with such a strong line-up, punters really were spoilt for choice as well.

I made my way to an old disused library, which was a great example of the different venues that are used at the festival, to catch Imp whose scuzzy riffs and quirky synths really made for an excellent start to the day.  I then headed to The Orangery for a great acoustic set from jamiesaysmile which was a really nice change of pace.  I returned to the library for St. Gregory Orange whose soundscapes on record translate into an awesome wall of noise when accompanied by their full band in a live setting.

Next up upstairs at The Hop for Let’s Wrestle and their raw take on alternative pop which never fails to disappoint and they certainly excelled on this occasion.  I then made the short trip down stairs for Mark Wynn whose quick wit and sharp lyrics made a thoroughly entertaining set.  Making the quick trip to see The Spills at Warehouse23 next and it was definitely worth my while as the set full of angst ridden indie rock and hard hitting riffs was one of the highlights of the day.

Too Many T’s provided a change of direction as there was not a guitar in sight for this hip hop duo and they even ended their brilliant set out in the car park in a real unique moment of the festival.  I decided to hang around for Ghostpoet of whom I had only actually heard a couple of songs before but I was really impressed by the fusion of electronica and big beats.  I returned to the library for This Many Boyfriends and the full on indie poppers provided a high energy fun set as usual. 

Unfortunately this was where my day ended as I had to make my way to work but it really had been a great day and it was just a shame it had to end early on a personal note.  It really was fantastic to see Wakefield so vibrant and with so many people having a good time and for this, big thanks must go to everyone behind Long Division.

Matt Hill
Leave a Reply

